Jose Vilhena, writer and cartoonist, died at 88

Home » Dead Famous » Jose Vilhena, writer and cartoonist, died at 88
Dead Famous No Comments

Jose Vilhena, born in 1927, founder of the magazines The Moralist and Open Cage, died on Saturday, October 3, 2015, in Lisbon at the Hospital of St. Francis Xavier, victim of prolonged illness, he told Lusa a family.

Born in Figueira de Castelo Rodrigo, in the district of Guarda, Jose studied architecture at the National Fine Arts School, in Porto, come to settle in Lisbon, where in the 1950s signed cartoons for the newspaper Diário de Lisboa, Smiley Face and The World Ri – that was one of the founders.

“José was the inescapable author of three or four decades of the mood in Portugal.

His work in the tradition of Gil Vicente, Bocage or Bordallo Pinheiro, is a chronicle of the times.

Sometimes the criticism of customs, sometimes the look on politics, others about the Church and often on women, “Jose said in a statement sent to Lusa, his nephew Luis Vilhena.

Jose Vilhena died this Saturday morning on October 3, 2015, he was aged 88.

Comments

comments